Four District 153 staff honored with Morin Award

  James Hart School teacher
  Mary Beth Berger, second
  from left, was honored with
  the Jerry Morin Award.
  Congratulating her are,
  from left, Hart Principal
  Scott McAlister,
  Superintendent Dale Mitchell,
  District 153 Board President
  Shelly Marks and former
  board member Morin. 

  (Provided photo)
The Jerry Morin Educational Excellence Award was presented to four outstanding Homewood District 153 staff members at the Sept. 24 school board meeting.
The Morin Award is given in honor of former school board member Jerry Morin, who always had a future vision and made certain the district’s plans looked into future needs that would keep the district at the cutting edge of technology in the classroom, said Board President Shelly Marks.

Morin was present to congratulate the winners.
  Caryn Shannon, second from
  left, was presented the
  Jerry Morin Educational
  Excellence Award for
  her outstanding work
  at Churchill School.
  Congratulating her
  are, from left, Churchill
  Principal Nikki Kerr,
  Superintendent Dale Mitchell,
  School Board President Shelly
  Marks and former board
  member Morin.

  (Photo by Marilyn Thomas/
  H-F Chronicle)
Teacher Mary Beth Berger was the recipient at James Hart School. The sixth grade language arts teacher was selected to receive the honor by her 100 peers in the building, said Principal Scott McAlister, who commended Berger for her outstanding teaching and efforts with fellow staff members.
Teacher Caryn Shannon, a 19-year staff member at Churchill School, also was honored with the award.  Principal Nikki Kerr said Shannon is someone she can always count on who is flexible and willing to jump in to help the kids in any way she can.
Teacher Barb Van Etten was the Willow School recipient.
  Willow School first grade
  teacher Barbara Van Etten,
  left, is congratulated after
  receiving the Jerry Morin
  Educational Excellence
  Award. Joining her are,
  from left, Superintendent
  Dale Mitchell, School
  Board President Shelly
  Marks, former board
  member Jerry Morin and
  Willow School Principal
  Melissa Lawson.
  by Marilyn Thomas/H-F 
Principal Melissa Lawson said the first grade teacher has a passion for her students that motivates them, lets them know she has high expectations and at the same time can open her heart and love them. She also mentors teachers on the math curriculum.
Sue Dippold was the staff member recognized with the Morin Award.  She has helped organize numerous projects, including the recent Wellness Day for staff, and she is a resource for teachers. Dippold, who works in the district office, has been on staff since July 2007 and will be retiring Dec. 31. Superintendent Dale Mitchell thanked her for her many hours of work on various projects over the years.
  District 153 presented Sue Dippold with the Jerry Morin
  Educational Excellence Award for her outstanding work
  in the district office. Congratulating her are, from left,
  Superintendent Dale Mitchell, School Board President
  Shelly Marks and retired board member Jerry Morin.

  (Photo by Marilyn Thomas/H-F Chronicle)



About Us

A great community deserves a great newspaper. The HF Chronicle was created in June 2014 as an online publication. In December 2015 we began monthly print publication, too. Our mission is to chronicle the life of our community — news by, for, and about the people of Homewood and Flossmoor, Illinois.


Do you have something to say? If you want to inform the community about events, issues, recognitions, concerns, etc., write a letter. 

Send a letter

Correction suggestions

If you see a mistake in The Chronicle, whether it's a typo, a misspelling or an error of fact, please let us know. Our goal is to provide reliable, accurate stories, and if we miss a detail, we want to fix it fast.

Submit correction

Contact Us

A great community makes a great newspaper. We want to hear from you with news tips, story ideas, your photos and accounts of events, corrections, problems, suggestions, etc. Call or write the editors
Eric Crump at [email protected] or 630-728-2661
Marilyn Thomas at [email protected]
Tom Houlihan at [email protected]

For advertising, distribution or general business inquiries, contact Eric Crump at [email protected] or 630-728-2661.

Postal address:
The HF Chronicle
P.O. Box 461
Flossmoor, IL 60422