H-F students win top honors in broadcasting competitions

Mark Ciesielski, teacher and chairman of the Broadcasting Department at Homewood-Flossmoor High School, has released a list of students who won top prizes at four major competitions this year.
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Upper-Midwest, which presents the annual Emmy Awards in Chicago, has a student division. H-F had six projects entered, and three were selected as Crystal Pillar Award winners and will move on for national judging in the fall.
The NATAS winners were all seniors at H-F:
  • Josie Bachus in the public affairs and community service category for “MLK Day.”
  • Zac Lueder, Luke Venegas and Kenneth Powell in the sports category for “Viking Racing."
  • Zac Lueder in the magazine category for “The VTV Show.”
  • Jalen Robinson in the arts and entertainment/cultural affairs category for “From Terror Town to Nike Town.”
First place winners in the Illinois Women’s Press Association contest were Kelly VanEtten, radio prepared report; Josie Bachus, video news story; Lilly Donkel and Caroline Johnson, video feature story; Jalen Robinson, video sports story. Their projects are advancing to national competition.
Illinois Women’s Press Association second place winners are Devin Gorton, radio prepared report; Zac Lueder, newscast; Jaelyn White and Jonathan Kriarkis, video news story; Zac Lueder, video sports story.
Kayla Norris received third place honors for video news story and Caroline Johnson, Lilly Donkel and Kelly VanEtten received an honorable mention for a radio interview.
At the Midwest Media Educators Association awards program Jazz Jubalani, Juliette Benjamin and Jessica Lyseng won first place for their music video.
Second place honors went to Jacob Goldberg, documentary; Zac Lueder, Kenneth Powell and Luke Venegas, natural audio news.
Third place honors went to Jacob Goldberg and Ben Hamer for a public service announcement; Jaelyn White and Caroline Johnson for a movie trailer; Kenneth Powell and Luke Venegas for dramatic narrative; Zac Lueder for live sports coverage; and Donald Crocker for sports program.
Midwest Media Educators Association also honored Josie Bachus, fourth place, for news package; Jalen Robinson, fourth place for documentary; Ben Turnquest and Ari Sline, fifth place for music video.

The Golden Lion Awards program is produced and directed by The Underground Academy of Cinematic Arts. Entrees are accepted from 12 Midwest states, including Illinois.
H-F’s Golden Lion Award winners are Zac Luder, Kenneth Powell and Luke Venegas, first in news story; Jahkeema Kimbrough, third in long documentary; Jacob Goldberg, third in short documentary; Emily Munse, third in music video; Jaelyn White and Jonathan Kriarikis, third in news story.
Golden Lion Award finalists were Luke Venegas and Kenneth Powell for short narrative; Jalen Robinson for short documentary; Jacob Goldberg and Ben Hamer for public service announcement; Jacob Goldberg and Devin Goldberg, comedy.

About Us

A great community deserves a great newspaper. The HF Chronicle was created in June 2014 as an online publication. In December 2015 we began monthly print publication, too. Our mission is to chronicle the life of our community — news by, for, and about the people of Homewood and Flossmoor, Illinois.


Do you have something to say? If you want to inform the community about events, issues, recognitions, concerns, etc., write a letter. 

Send a letter

Correction suggestions

If you see a mistake in The Chronicle, whether it's a typo, a misspelling or an error of fact, please let us know. Our goal is to provide reliable, accurate stories, and if we miss a detail, we want to fix it fast.

Submit correction

Contact Us

A great community makes a great newspaper. We want to hear from you with news tips, story ideas, your photos and accounts of events, corrections, problems, suggestions, etc. Call or write the editors
Eric Crump at [email protected] or 630-728-2661
Marilyn Thomas at [email protected]
Tom Houlihan at [email protected]

For advertising, distribution or general business inquiries, contact Eric Crump at [email protected] or 630-728-2661.

Postal address:
The HF Chronicle
P.O. Box 461
Flossmoor, IL 60422