H-F school board approves tenure for 13 teachers

Time to read
less than
1 minute

H-F school board approves tenure for 13 teachers

April 07, 2015 - 23:04

The Homewood-Flossmoor High School Board granted tenure to 13 teachers starting with the 2015-16 school year.

These teachers have successfully completed four years of probationary status and were recommended to the board by Superintendent Von Mansfield, Principal Ryan Pitcock and department chairpersons.

Tenure was approved for Courtney Alexander, applied academics; Mary Kate Pack, Jeanne Miller and Christine Murawski, English; Melissa Makovsky, math; Matthew Gibson, science; Nick Anello and Terri Davis, social studies; Alexander Pratt and Angela Taylor, special education; Andrea Ball-Ryan and Roberto Suarez, student services; and Jonathan Miller, world language.

Mansfield said the number of newly tenured teachers is about average. He said as long-time staff take retirement, new teachers come into the district and move up through the ranks. He expects these teachers will be with the district for 15 years or more.

In other business, the board hired China native Yin Ding to teach Mandarin Chinese starting in 2015-16. She had been an English language teacher in China. Mansfield believes she will have little trouble transitioning into her position at H-F. Ding will be working with H-F students, as well as students from H-F’s feeder schools Parker Junior High in Flossmoor and James Hart Junior High in Homewood, as she helps develop the new Chinese language program.

The board also accepted, with regret, the notice of retirement of teacher Russell Sayler who has been teaching math at H-F and other schools for more than 30 years. 

He will step down after the 2017-18 school year.

Contact Marilyn Thomas at [email protected]