Sample ballots show voters choices in March 20 primary election

  Click on the ballot 
  image to see a 
  larger version of
  page 1 of the
  Democratic ballot. 
The Cook County Clerk's Office has released sample ballots for the March 20 primary election. The H-F Chronicle is publishing these to give voters lists of the candidates.
These lists are in addition to the three referendum questions: home rule for Homewood, a one-cent sales tax in Flossmoor and the statewide advisory referendum on legalizing marijuana for recreational use by persons over 21.
It should be noted that three candidates appear on the ballot, although the courts have officially declared that they are not eligible to run.  The final decisions were made after the ballots were printed. 

  Click on the ballot 
  image to see page 
  2 of the sample 
Votes will not be counted for Deyon L. Dean in the 30th District House seat challenging incumbent Will Davis; Jan Kowalski McDonald, who wanted to challenge Cook County Clerk Dorothy Brown; and Andrea A. Raila, who could be a spoiler in what is a hotly contested primary race between incumbent Cook County Assessor Joe Berrios and challenger Fritz Kaegi.
Democrats will be making more choices in this election.  There are 10 full circuit judgeships open, but no one filed on the GOP ticket for any of those spots. 
Two judge vacancies — Scully Jr. and Zelezinski — are open in the 15th subcircuit,which includes all of Flossmoor and sections of Homewood. Democrats are in competition for both these positions.  Ashonta Rick-Akiwowo and Michael B. Barrett are running for the Scully vacancy, and Anthony C. Swanagan and Scott McKenna filed for the Zelezinski vacancy. On the GOP ballot, only Karla Marie Fiaoni filed for the Zelezinski vacancy. 
Homewood is divided into four townships – Thornton, Bloom, Bremen and Rich. Flossmoor is in Rich and Bloom townships.

  Click on the ballot 
  image to see a 
  larger version of 
  a sample 
  Republican ballot.
Democratic candidates for the Bloom Township Committeeman spot are Terry Lee Mathews, Arthur W. Wiggins Jr. and Lori J. Wilcox.  The Bloom Township Republican Committeeman candidate is Douglas M. Troiani.
In Bremen Township, there is no candidate for the Democratic committeeman. Kevin Suggs is running for the GOP committeeman’s spot.
Running for Rich Township committeeman on the GOP ballot is David T. Brooks.

The Democratic candidate for Rich Township committeeman is Calvin Jordan.
The Thornton Township GOP committeeman candidate is Tim DeYoung. The Democratic committeeman candidate is Frank Zuccarelli.
There are no Republican commissioner candidates for Cook County Board for the 5th or 6th Districts that represent Homewood and Flossmoor.
Democratic candidates in 6th District commissioner’s race are Patricia Joan Murphy, Louis Presta and Donna Miller.
Democratic candidates in the 5th District Commissioner’s race are Deborah Sims, Timothy “Tim” Parker and Audrey Lynn Tranksley.

More information:
Your voter information (including your polling place, your early voting site, your precinct, your elected officials)

About Us

A great community deserves a great newspaper. The HF Chronicle was created in June 2014 as an online publication. In December 2015 we began monthly print publication, too. Our mission is to chronicle the life of our community — news by, for, and about the people of Homewood and Flossmoor, Illinois.


Do you have something to say? If you want to inform the community about events, issues, recognitions, concerns, etc., write a letter. 

Send a letter

Correction suggestions

If you see a mistake in The Chronicle, whether it's a typo, a misspelling or an error of fact, please let us know. Our goal is to provide reliable, accurate stories, and if we miss a detail, we want to fix it fast.

Submit correction

Contact Us

A great community makes a great newspaper. We want to hear from you with news tips, story ideas, your photos and accounts of events, corrections, problems, suggestions, etc. Call or write the editors
Eric Crump at [email protected] or 630-728-2661
Marilyn Thomas at [email protected]
Tom Houlihan at [email protected]

For advertising, distribution or general business inquiries, contact Eric Crump at [email protected] or 630-728-2661.

Postal address:
The HF Chronicle
P.O. Box 461
Flossmoor, IL 60422